HTML> UbuWeb Sound - PhonoStatic 7: Audio Anxiety (1987)


The Tape-beatles

The Tape-beatles on UbuWeb
The Phonostatic Cassettes on UbuWeb

PhonoStatic 7: Audio Anxiety (1987)

060 Wittgenstein on Pain by Bob Gregory and Jason Gibbs

061 They Call It Art by Weather Nouveau

062 Sing Sing Sing (Sing Sing) by The Tape-beatles

063 Bits by Fredrick Lonberg-Holm

064 Absolute Zero by X.Y. Zedd (Scott Paul Elledge)

066 French Lessonby X.Y. Zedd (Scott Paul Elledge)

066 Listen to the radioby The Tape-beatles (Lloyd Dunn, John Heck, Ralph Johnson)

067 Destroyed Music (excerpt) by The Haters

068 It's Not as Easy as You Think to be a Pseudo Virtuoso (#2) by tENTATIVELY a cONVENIENCE

069 Headache (excerpt) by Big City Orchestra

070 untitled by John E[berly]

As happened in several of the Phonostatic cassette compilations, the phonic theme takes its cue from an earlier visual one; namely, PhotoStatic no. 22, "DisEase Disease," which explored similar psychic and conceptual territory. We are treated to, among other things, an early two-track cut-up experiment by The Tape-beatles that rips off the Benny Goodman Orchestra; a snotty commentary about the then-current state of art by Weather Nouveau; representative pieces from the voluminous and adventuresome cassette-deck stylings of X.Y. Zedd; and spooky soundbed meets headbending philosophy by Bob Gregory and Jason Gibbs. Cellist and electronic musician Fredrick Lonberg-Holm contributes the excellent "Bits", and along with all this is the consummate noise-art by such familiar names as Big City Orchestra, tENTATIVELY, a cONVENIENCE, and The Haters; among others.

Compilation edited by Lloyd Dunn

Cassette release (1987): PhonoStatic Cassettes, Iowa City, Iowa

Additional material at: