HTML> UbuWeb Sound - PhonoStatic 5: Listener's Fatigue (1986)


The Tape-beatles

The Tape-beatles on UbuWeb
The Phonostatic Cassettes on UbuWeb

PhonoStatic 5: Listener's Fatigue (1986)

037 'sic' by Didier Moulinier

038 Achievement Rap by Ll. Dunn

039 Unbell Radio by Qwa Digs Never Parish (Miekal And, Liz Was, and others)

040 Power by Batang Frisco (Bill DiMichele, Eric Jensen)

041 I Can Show You the Way Out by 9digit Zip (Lloyd Dunn)

042 In Much (Wisdom) is Much Grief by Kathleen Yearwood

043 No Script by Zen Sutherland

044 Word Works (part I, excerpt) by Michael Winkler

045 untitled by Ll. Dunn

046 The Scalp of Christ (part VI of 'Out of order, chaos') by Zen Sutherland

047 Flippa Ut by Qwa Digs Never Parish (Miekal And, Liz Was, and others)

048 Zen signs off with apologies by Zen Sutherland

Listener's fatigue is an audiophile concept relating to the relative merits of a given sound reproduction system. The idea is that the ear wearies of listening sooner on a poorly performing system than it does on a high-quality one. We chose it as the title of this compilation for unknown reasons; perhaps it had something to do with our being tired of hearing what most people were listening to at the time. And this, perhaps, was offered as our remedy. All speculation aside, the present collection seems a cohesive listening experience, in spite of the variety of the works included. This ranges from the spoken word (Kathleen Yearwood) to quasi-pop (Batang Frisco) to free-from improvisation (Qwa Digs Never Parish) to cut-up (Simon Peeks) to audio collage (9digit Zip), to name just a few.

Compilation edited by Lloyd Dunn

Cassette release (1986): PhonoStatic Cassettes, Iowa City, Iowa

Additional material at:

UbuWeb Sound | UbuWeb