Dganit Elyakim b. 1977
Liberation Through Hearing: Level 1 for Choir (2021)
Liberation Through Hearing (2021)

Liberation Through Hearing: Level 1 for Choir (2021)
Liberation Through Hearing: Level 2 for Recorders and Electronics (2021)
Liberation Through Hearing: Level 6 for Bass Clarinet and Electronics (2021)

An interactive opera, based on software architecture in 2-D computer games; an audio-visual, large-scale work that combines a dramatic story, taking place in digital media, with game-like elements. Unlike most computer games, in this opera there is no scoring, no winners or losers; one can only endlessly wander in two-dimensional space while creating the music. The diverse musical layers and their combination with actions put the users amid the drama and at the same time, position them as necessary players in the musical piece. The videos are screenshots, a walkthrough version of the opera.

Choir, 6 voices: Michal Oppenheim
Piano*: Dganit Elyakim
Bowed vibraphone: Tomer Galili
*the piano loop is based on a quote from The Banshees by Henry Cowell

Concept, libretto and interactive design: Dganit Elyakim and Shahar Sarig
Music: Dganit Elyakim
Hand sketches and animation: Shahar Sarig
Interactive/game developer: Yotam Noy
Sound director (tonmeister): Ronald Boersen
*The libretto is rooted in the Bardo Thodol (aka The Tibetan Book Of The Dead)